credentials

Werkstatt_HP_24.06.20JPG.png

1999 - 2020 Mercedes-Benz Automotive Sales & Marketing

Daimler AG (DaimlerChrysler AG) / Export-Sales & Marketing Car / Truck / Van / Bus, Stuttgart / Dortmund 1999 - 2010

Mercedes-Benz Ostendorf GmbH / Ostendorf Classic; Hamm 2011 - 2015

FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG / LUEG Classic; Essen 2016 - 2018

Mercedes-Benz Herbrand Niederrhein GmbH / Herbrand Classic; Krefeld 2018 - 2020

2011 - 2020 Classic Sales, Marketing & Service

 

  • Development of all relevant structures for classic-vehicle sales, service and restoration

  • Creation of complete process descriptions for trade and service

  • Sale / purchase of classic vehicles in an international network

  • Development of marketing, PR and sales concepts

  • Price and cost calculation for sales and restoration orders

  • Organization of classic car-specific customer events, training courses and exhibitions

  • Close contact with the Mercedes-Benz sales organization Germany / International

  • Press work with  focus on classic-vehicles (press articles, social media: Youtube, Instagram, LinkedIn, Facebook, ...)

  • Worldwide network (vehicles and aftersales)

  • Europe-wide restoration network (parts, repair services)

Showroom_Ostendorf_aussen.jpg

Restoration of a W 111 280 SE convertible (1970); Ostendorf Classic

As of January 2011, Ostendorf Classic very quickly devoted itself to challenging vehicle projects. The 280SE convertible pictured here has been rebuilt from scratch. In particular, only the center tunnel, dashboard, window frame, doors and trunk lid remained of the original body structure. We rebuilt the body within 1 ½ years at enormous costs. The same applies to the engine, gearbox and axles which we repaired ourselves. All chrome parts have been re-galvanized. Anything that could not be repaired was procured and installed as a new part. Great attention was paid to originality. The Classic Data appraisal confirmed the perfect condition with the grade 1 (new condition or better), which is rarely given. The photo of the underbody after the restoration shows that the visual impression is one thing - the technical perfection is another.

280SE_Cabrio_Ostendorf.jpg
280SE_Cabrio_unten_Ostendorf.jpg

As part of the restoration, research work had to be carried out for a year and a half in order to define the original delivery status. The aim here was not only to restore the optics, but also the technology to the state of 1937.

 

It turned out that, for example, the connecting rod bearing shells were cast directly onto the connecting rod in an alloy that is no longer used today. We found a specialist who was able to reconstruct this technique and apply it to our vehicle. This means that the vehicle we restored should be the closest 230n Roadster to the original of around 10 surviving examples worldwide.

 

Interesting detail: The radiator grille was in very poor condition when it was bought. We were able to restore the shape through galvanic copper plating and subsequent grinding. The weight has tripled - but the look has been perfected.

Restoration of the W 143 230n (1937) Roadster

This pre-war vehicle was a particular challenge, as it was only built in a number of 36 pieces, about which no documentation survived World War II in the archive of Daimler AG apart from a handful of photos.

230n_Front.jpg
230n_Seite.jpg
230SL_Boehringer_Ostendorf.jpg

The "Böhringer Pagoda" W113 230SL (1963)

When Ostendorf Classic bought this vehicle, it was in a pitiful condition - but it had an FIA vehicle pass for historic motorsport! It was also painted in a different color from the original. However, since it had all the necessary options and modifications for the historic motorsport, we gave it the look of the historical model: the 230SL Pagoda of Eugen Böhringer, with which he won the 1963 rally Spa-Sofia lounger. In order to  ride it "leading the pack" in racing, we optimized the engine and chassis with contemporary tuning parts that were both FIA homologation and German historic-license-plate compliant. Personal note: I have never driven a Pagoda before or after this vehicle project that performed similarly good.

An eye for details is essential!

 

When restoring classic vehicles, it depends on the details and originality - but of course also on the quality of workmanship. If a slotted screw was installed ex works, this is of course also used for restoration, instead of a more modern cross-slotted or Torx screw. Not all wood-trim on a daschboard is the same either: as in the picture, a perfectly restored W111 Coupé has to look inside - and not different! The restoration of these parts takes about eight weeks due to the drying times of the 8-10 layers of paint.

280SE_innen_Ostendorf.jpg
Logo_Ostendorf_Classic.jpg
Exposé_230n_MUSTER.jpg

  Every brand and every company needs a face!

 

In addition to the brand image mark, visual language, all processes and structures in PR and communication, the naming and design of the logo also requires some attention and must match the brand essence in design and color. Here as an example the self-developed logo from Ostendorf Classic .

 

Following the once defined CI, the font, size and layout of all documents are of course also designed in the same look.

 

Recognition for customers is important here. The CI guidelines must be known to every employee and used in communication without exception. Affected documents besides exposés are invoices, offers, checklists, documentation ...

 

The picture below, which I took with an iPhone during my time at Herbrand Niederrhein GmbH & Co. KG, shows that a brand image mark can also vary. Coincidentelly, there were two 600 (W100) on the same lift as a few days earlier (see top of page) - now two Mercedes-Benz 300SL (W198). We used both photos in our print and online communication alternately.

Flügeltürer_Bildmarke.jpg

Restoring and selling cars is one thing - marketing them and giving your company a recognizable face is another. During my time at FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, I put the company's own history and the tradition of vehicle construction (170 station wagons; the predecessor of the T-model) under the heading of “future needs origins” in the focus of communication. A picture mark for recognition was also defined and staged with a photo from the company archive for communication activities. For events, one of the last 170 station wagons owned by the company was restored, which was used for events and trade fairs together with the 300d Adenauer, which was also owned by the company. Restoring and selling classic cars is one thing - giving your company a recognizable face is another. During my time at FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, I put the company's own history and the tradition of vehicle construction (170 station wagons; the predecessor of all Mercedes-Benz T-models built in Bochum) into the focus of communication under the concept of “ future needs heritage”. A historic picture mark for recognition was also defined and staged with a photo from the company archive for communication activities.

lueg-classic-portrait-smartphone-8-5.jpg
170_und_300d_LUEG.jpg

Restoring and selling cars is one thing - marketing them and giving your company a recognizable face is another. During my time at FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, I put the company's own history and the tradition of vehicle construction (170 station wagons; the predecessor of the T-model) under the heading of “future needs origins” in the focus of communication. A picture mark for recognition was also defined and staged with a photo from the company archive for communication activities. For events, one of the last 170 station wagons owned by the company was restored, which was used for events and trade fairs together with the 300d Adenauer, which was also owned by the company. For events, one of the last 170 station wagons owned by the company was restored, which was also used for exhibitions and trade fairs together with the 300d Adenauer, which was owned by the company, too.

Restoring and selling cars is one thing - marketing them and giving your company a recognizable face is another. During my time at FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, I put the company's own history and the tradition of vehicle construction (170 station wagons; the predecessor of the T-model) under the heading of “future needs origins” in the focus of communication. A picture mark for recognition was also defined and staged with a photo from the company archive for communication activities. For events, one of the last 170 station wagons owned by the company was restored, which was used for events and trade fairs together with the 300d Adenauer, which was also owned by the company.

...any questions? Feel free to contact us by email or phone!

 

 

 

Photos: FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, Bochum; Ostendorf GmbH, Ahlen; Christian Nikolai

Referenzen

1999 – 2020 Mercedes-Benz Automotive Sales & Marketing

 

Daimler AG (DaimlerChrysler AG) / Export-Sales & Marketing Car/Truck/Van/Bus, Stuttgart/Dortmund      1999  - 2010

Mercedes-Benz Ostendorf GmbH / Ostendorf Classic; Hamm                                                               2011  - 2015

FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG / LUEG Classic; Essen                                                                                  2016  - 2018

Mercedes-Benz Herbrand Niederrhein GmbH / Herbrand Classic; Krefeld                                              2018 - 2020

2011 – 2020 Classic Sales, Marketing & Service

  • Aufbau aller relevanten Strukturen für Classic-Handel, -Service und -Restaurierung

  • Erstellung von kompletten Verfahrensbeschreibungen Handel und Service

  • Verkauf/Ankauf von klassischen Fahrzeugen in internationalem Netzwerk

  • Entwicklung von Marketing-, PR- und Vertriebskonzepten

  • Preis- und Kostenkalkulation für Handel und Restaurierungsaufträge

  • Organisation von oldtimerspezifischen Kundenveranstaltungen, Schulungen und Messen

  • Enger Kontakt zur Mercedes-Benz Vertriebsorganisation Deutschland/International

  • Pressearbeit mit Schwerpunkt Classic (Pressartikel, Social Media: Youtube, Instagram, LinkedIn, Facebook, ...)

  • Weltweites Netzwerk Classic Handel (Fahrzeuge und Aftersales)

  • Europaweites Netzwerk Restaurierung (Teile-Handel, Dienstleistungen für Instandsetzungen)

Restaurierung W 111 280 SE Cabrio (1970); Ostendorf Classic

Ab Januar 2011 widmete sich Ostendorf Classic sehr schnell anspruchsvollen Fahrzeugprojekten. Das hier abgebildete 280SE Cabrio wurde von Grund auf neu aufgebaut. Konkret blieb von der Karosserie-Originalstruktur nur der Mitteltunnel, Armaturenbrett, Scheibenrahmen sowie Türen und Heckdeckel erhalten. Innerhalb von 1 ½ Jahren haben wir die Karosserie mit enormem, finanziellen Aufwand neu aufgebaut. Gleiches gilt für Motor, Getriebe und Achsen, die wir selbst instandgesetzt haben. Sämtliche Chromteile wurden neu galvanisiert. Was nicht instandgesetzt werden konnte, wurde als Neuteil besorgt und montiert. Hierbei wurde mit größter Rücksicht auf Originalität gearbeitet. Das Classic Data Wertgutachten bestätigte den perfekten Zustand mit der Note 1 (Neuzustand oder besser), die nur selten vergeben wird. Dass der optische Eindruck das eine – die technische Perfektion das andere ist, zeigt das Foto vom Unterboden nach fertiggestellter Restaurierung.

Im Rahmen der Restaurierung musste zunächst eine anderthalbjährige Recherchearbeit geleistet werden, um den Auslieferungszustand definieren zu können. Hierbei galt es, nicht nur die Optik, sondern auch die Technik in den Zustand von 1937 zu versetzen. Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass. z.B. die Pleuellagerschalen in einer heute nicht mehr verwendeten Legierung direkt auf die Pleuel aufgegossen wurden.

 

Wir haben einen Spezialisten ausfindig gemacht, der diese Technik rekonstruieren und an unserem Fahrzeug anwenden konnte. Damit dürfte das von uns restaurierte Fahrzeug der dem Original am nächsten kommende 230n Roadster von ca. 10 überlebenden Exemplaren weltweit sein. Anekdote am Rande: Der Kühlergrill war bei Ankauf in einem sehr schlechten Zustand. Durch galvanisches Aufkupfern und anschließendes Schleifen konnten wir die Form wiederherstellen. Das Gewicht hat sich dabei in Etwa verdreifacht – die Optik aber perfektioniert.

Restaurierung W 143 230n (1937) Roadster

Dieses Vorkriegsfahrzeug war eine besondere Herausforderung, wurde es nur in einer Stückzahl von 36 Stück gebaut, über die außer ein paar Fotos keine Dokumentation im Archiv der Daimler AG den 2. Weltkrieg überlebte.

Die „Böhringer Pagode“ W113 230SL (1963)

Als wir dieses Fahrzeug ankauften, war es in einem bemitleidenswerte Zustand – verfügte allerdings über einen FIA Fahrzeugpass für den historischen Motorsport! Zudem war es in einer vom Original abweichenden Farbe lackiert. Da es allerdings über alle notwendigen Ein- und Umbauten für den Motorsport verfügte, haben wir ihr die Optik des historischen Vorbilds gegönnt: Der 230SL Pagode von Eugen Böhringer, mit der er 1963 die materialmordende Rally Spa-Sofia-Liege gewann. Um im Renneinsatz auch „vorne“ mitfahren zu können, haben wir Motor und Fahrwerk mit zeitgenössischen Tuningmaßnahmen optimiert, die sowohl FIA-homologations- als auch H-Kennzeichenkonform waren. Persönliche Anmerkung: Ich bin weder vor, noch nach diesem Fahrzeugprojekt jemals eine Pagode gefahren, die ein ähnlich gutes Fahrverhalten hatte

Der Blick für Details ist essenziell!

 

Bei der Restaurierung von klassischen Fahrzeugen kommt es auf die Details und Originalität – aber natürlich auch auf die Verarbeitungsqualität an. Wurde ab Werk eine Schlitzschraube verbaut, wird diese natürlich auch bei Restaurierung benutzt, statt einer moderneren Kreuz-Schlitz-, oder Torxschraube. Auch Holz ist nicht gleich Holz: Wie hier im Bild muss ein perfekt restauriertes W111 Coupé im Innenraum aussehen – und nicht anders! Die Restaurierung dieser Teile dauert übrigens ca. acht Wochen aufgrund der Trocknungszeiten der 8-10 Lackschichten.

Exposé_230n_MUSTER.jpg

 Jede Marke und jedes Unternehmen braucht ein Gesicht!

 

Neben der Bildmarke, Bildsprache, allen Prozessen und Strukturen in PR und Kommunikation bedarf übrigens auch die Namensgebung und die Gestaltung des Logos einiger Aufmerksamkeit und muss in Design und Farbe zum Markenkern passen. Hier als Beispiel das selbstentwickelte Logo von Ostendorf Classic .

Der einmal definierten CI folgend, werden selbst-verständlich auch Schriftart, -große und Layout aller Dokumente gestaltet. Wichtig ist hierbei die Wiedererkennbarkeit für Kunden. Die CI-Guidelines müssen jedem Mitarbeiter bekannt sein und ausnahmslos in der Kommunikation verwendet werden. Betroffene Dokumente neben Exposés sind Rechnungen, Angebote, Checklisten, Dokumentationen...

Dass eine Bildmarke auch variieren kann, zeigt das Bild unten, das ich im Übrigen während meiner Zeit bei der Herbrand Niederrhein GmbH & Co. KG mit einem Iphone fotografiert habe. Durch Zufall befanden sich auf denselben Hebebühnen, wie ein paar Tage zuvor zwei 600 (W100); siehe Seitenanfang - nun zwei Mercedes-Benz 300SL (W198). Wir haben beide Fotos in unserer Print- und Online-Kommunikation im Wechsel verwendet.

Autos restaurieren und verkaufen ist das Eine – diese zu vermarkten und seinem Unternehmen ein wiedererkennbares Gesicht zu geben, das Andere. In meiner Zeit bei der FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG habe ich die eigene Unternehmensgeschichte und die Tradition des Fahrzeugbaus (170 Kombi; der Vor-Vorgänger des T-Modells) unter dem Denkansatz „Zukunft braucht Herkunft“ in den Fokus der Kommunikation gestellt. Auch eine Bildmarke zur Wiederkennung wurde mit einem Foto aus dem Firmenarchiv für Kommunikationsaktivitäten definiert und in Szene gesetzt. Für Events wurde eines der letzten, in Firmenbesitz befindlichen 170 Kombis restauriert, der zusammen mit dem ebenfalls aus dem Firmenbesitz stammenden 300d Adenauer für Events und Messen genutzt wurde.Autos restaurieren und verkaufen ist das Eine – diese zu vermarkten und seinem Unternehmen ein wiedererkennbares Gesicht zu geben, das Andere. In meiner Zeit bei der FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG habe ich die eigene Unternehmensgeschichte und die Tradition des Fahrzeugbaus (170 Kombi; der in Bochum gebaute Vorgänger aller Mercedes-Benz T-Modelle) unter dem Denkansatz „Zukunft braucht Herkunft“ in den Fokus der Kommunikation gestellt. Auch eine Bildmarke zur Wiederkennung wurde mit einem Foto aus dem Firmenarchiv für Kommunikationsaktivitäten definiert und in Szene gesetzt.

Autos restaurieren und verkaufen ist das Eine – diese zu vermarkten und seinem Unternehmen ein wiedererkennbares Gesicht zu geben, das Andere. In meiner Zeit bei der FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG habe ich die eigene Unternehmensgeschichte und die Tradition des Fahrzeugbaus (170 Kombi; der Vor-Vorgänger des T-Modells) unter dem Denkansatz „Zukunft braucht Herkunft“ in den Fokus der Kommunikation gestellt. Auch eine Bildmarke zur Wiederkennung wurde mit einem Foto aus dem Firmenarchiv für Kommunikationsaktivitäten definiert und in Szene gesetzt. Für Events wurde eines der letzten, in Firmenbesitz befindlichen 170 Kombis restauriert, der zusammen mit dem ebenfalls aus dem Firmenbesitz stammenden 300d Adenauer für Events und Messen genutzt wurde.Für Events wurde eines der letzten, in Firmenbesitz befindlichen 170 Kombis restauriert, der zusammen mit dem ebenfalls aus dem Firmenbesitz stammenden 300d Adenauer u.a. auch für Messen genutzt wurde.

Autos restaurieren und verkaufen ist das Eine – diese zu vermarkten und seinem Unternehmen ein wiedererkennbares Gesicht zu geben, das Andere. In meiner Zeit bei der FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG habe ich die eigene Unternehmensgeschichte und die Tradition des Fahrzeugbaus (170 Kombi; der Vor-Vorgänger des T-Modells) unter dem Denkansatz „Zukunft braucht Herkunft“ in den Fokus der Kommunikation gestellt. Auch eine Bildmarke zur Wiederkennung wurde mit einem Foto aus dem Firmenarchiv für Kommunikationsaktivitäten definiert und in Szene gesetzt. Für Events wurde eines der letzten, in Firmenbesitz befindlichen 170 Kombis restauriert, der zusammen mit dem ebenfalls aus dem Firmenbesitz stammenden 300d Adenauer für Events und Messen genutzt wurde.

Fragen? Wenden Sie sich gerne an uns per Email oder telefonisch!

 

 

 

Fotos: FahrzeugWerke LUEG AG, Bochum; Ostendorf GmbH, Ahlen; Christian Nikolai

Impressum     Datenschutz     AGB

Logo_Raumlenker_neu_SW_edited.jpg
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Weißes Xing

© 2020 RaumLenker MotorConsult (Christian Nikolai)