Is there no alternative to electromobility?

 

We think that there are alternatives! (... in fact we* are fully convinced)

 

In view of the unclear origin of the electricity required, which, due to the German nuclear and coal phase-out, is likely to lead to massive energy imports from neighboring EU countries without a coal and nuclear phase-out law in the near future, we see considerable environmental pollution in the focus on "E-Only" in the form of incalculable global CO2 emissions during the generation and subsequent disposal of electronic waste and used batteries. The  German "Reichweitenangst" (range anxiety)  is likely to be the slightest problem here. It should be remembered here that the CO2 emissions of German car traffic currently account for around 0.167% of global CO2 emissions ...

 

While a comprehensive conversion to pure electric mobility for the end consumer only brings with it the question of whether there is enough electricity for charging EV´s batteries available, the conversion of the entire infrastructure and the procurement of energy are aspects that have not yet been clarified. Furthermore, they are not included in the energy balance of electric vehicles and are ignored in the draft of new, federal laws. From our perspective, the switch to electromobility in order to  reduce pollutant emissions in city centers makes sense - further electromobility concepts urgently require a process optimization. The mere fact that a single battery from a large US manufacturer of electric vehicles has to move around 500 tons of soil, from which 50 tons of ore-containing material are extracted, shows that this is not a measurable success in the short or medium term.  Following this strategy, the reduction of climate-damaging gases - especially CO2 - cannot be achieved. Politicians seem to be ignoring this, but industry should be aware of this. In the official calculations, the problem of disposal and recycling of electric vehicle batteries was completely ignored. (B)EVs are considered as "zero emission" vehicles...

 

Since the automotive industry has become a troublemaker in public and therefore been marked in red on the to-do list of environmental associations due to the manipulation of software during the exhaust gas treatment of diesel vehicles ("Diesel-Gate"), it is no longer considered a reliable partner in combating climate change. The engineering spirit of the German key industry is thus largely switched off and incapable of acting for the foreseeable future.

 

What possibilities are there to counteract climate change openly and - above all - quickly, without

simply shifting CO2 emissions to neighboring countries and at the same time increasing the problems caused by wrong strategies?

 

How do we also manage to save the climate not only in our urban industrial societies in the western world, but also in areas where growth and massive industrialization are currently the national focus and climate protection means luxury for a small upper class: In emerging and developing countries?

* We = Christian Nikolai, RaumLenker MotorConsult & Christian Kropp, Kropp Geomatic

Chrysler_Turbine_2_edited.jpg

alternative energies

The by-product of e-only:

Heise_online_GW_Afrika.jpg
13%2010%20Machine%20Bombo_edited.jpg

Quick Info Global Decarbonization

The discussion about the nationwide introduction of electromobility in favor of the reduction of CO2 emissions is currently only being conducted in industrialized and emerging countries with near-term growth potential. The majority of the so-called emerging and developing countries do not participate or only to a very limited extent for economic and / or political reasons. However, it can be assumed that the potential for future CO2 savings can be found here, because it is precisely in these regions that mobility must first be developed, which we want to massively rebuild in the industrialized countries of the western world to save the global climate. This process is not only characterized by high costs, but above all the ecological, economic and social disadvantages of alternative concepts such as electromobility, hydrogen propulsion and fuel cell technology.

Ist Elektromobilität alternativlos?

 

Wir denken, nein! (...genau genommen sind wir* fest davon überzeugt, dass es Alternativen gibt)

 

Angesichts der unklaren Herkunft des benötigten Stroms, der aufgrund des deutschen Atom- und Kohleausstiegs in naher Zukunft bereits zu massiven Energieimporten aus EU-Nachbarländern ohne Kohle- und Atom-Ausstiegsgesetz führen dürfte, sehen wir in der Fokussierung auf "E-Only" erheblichen Umweltbelastungen in Form eines nicht kalkulierbaren, globalen CO2-Ausstoßes bei der Erzeugung und der sich anschließenden Entsorgung von Elektroschrott sowie der verbrauchten Akkus auf uns zukommen. Die "German Reichweitenangst" dürfte hierbei noch das geringste Problem sein. Hier sei daran erinnert, dass der CO2-Ausstoß des deutschen PKW Verkehrs derzeit ca. 0.167% Anteil an den weltweiten CO2-Emissionen beträgt...

 

Während eine flächendeckende Umstellung auf reine Elektromobilität für den Endverbraucher lediglich die Frage mit sich bringt, ob genügend Ladestrom zur Verfügung steht, sind der Umbau der gesamten Infrastrukur sowie die Energiebeschaffung bisher ungeklärte, nicht in der Energiebilanz von Elektrofahrzeugen aufgeführte Aspekte und werden in sämtlichen Diskussionen und Gesetzesentwürfen vernachlässigt. Elektromobilität zur Senkung von Schadstoff-Emissionen in Innenstädten macht aus unserer Sicht zwar Sinn - darüberhinausgehende Elektromobilitätskonzepte bedürfen dringend einer Prozessoptimierung. Allein der Umstand, dass für einen einzigen Akku eines großen, US-Amerikanischen Herstellers von Elektrofahrzeugen ca. 500 Tonnen Erdreich bewegt werden müssen, aus denen 50 Tonnen Erz-haltiges Material gewonnen werden, verdeutlicht, dass so weder kurz- noch mittelfristig messbare Erfolge bei der Reduktion von klimaschädlichen Gasen - vor allem CO2 - erzielt werden können. Die Politik scheint diese Erkenntnis zu ignorieren, die Industrie dürfte sich darüber allerdings im Klaren sein. Bei der angewandten Kalkulation wurde zudem das angesprochene Problem der Entsorgung und des Recyclings von Elektrofahrzeug-Akkus komplett ausgeblendet.

Da die Automobilindustrie in der Vergangenheit durch Manipulationen von Software bei der Abgasaufbereitung an Diesel-Fahrzeugen in den Fokus der Öffentlichkeit und auf die ToDo-Liste von Umweltverbänden geriet, gilt sie nicht mehr als verlässlicher Partner bei der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels. Der Ingenieursgeist der deutschen Schlüsselindustrie ist somit auf unabsehbare Zeit weitestgehend ausgeschaltet und handlungsunfähig.

Welche Möglichkeiten bieten sich, ergebnisoffen und vor allem schnell dem Klimawandel entgegenzuwirken, ohne 

CO2-Emissionen lediglich in Nachbarländer zu verlagern und gleichzeitig die Probleme aufgrund falscher Strategien zu vergrößern?

Wie schaffen wir es zudem, das Klima nicht nur in unseren urban geprägten Industriegesellschaften der westlichen Welt zu retten, sondern dort, wo derzeit und auch in Zukunft auf Wachstum sowie massive Industrialisierung gesetzt wird und Klimaschutz Luxus für eine kleine Upper Class bedeutet: In Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern?

*Wir = Christian Nikolai, RaumLenker MotorConsult  & Christian Kropp, Kropp Geomatic

Chrysler_Turbine_2_edited.jpg

Alternative Energien

Das Nebenprodukt von E-Only:

13%2010%20Machine%20Bombo_edited.jpg

Quick-Info globale Dekarbonisierung

Die Diskussion um die flächendeckende Einführung der Elektromobilität zugunsten der Reduktion von CO2 Emissionen wird derzeit ausschließlich in Industriestaaten und Schwellenländern mit zeitnahem Wachstumspotential geführt. Das Gros der sog. Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländer beteiligen sich aus wirtschaftlichen und/oder politischen Gründen daran nicht oder nur sehr eingeschränkt. Es darf aber davon ausgegangen werden, dass hier die Potentiale für zukünftige CO2 Einsparungen zu finden sind, denn gerade in diesen Regionen muss die Mobilität erst entwickelt werden, die wir in den Industriestaaten der westlichen Welt zur Rettung des Weltklimas massiv umbauen wollen. Dieser Prozess ist nicht nur von hohen Kosten, sondern vor allem ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Nachteilen der alternativen Konzepte wie Elektromobilität, Wasserstoffantrieb und Brennstoffzellentechnologie geprägt.