Jatropha Oil

sustainable bridging technology as part of our future mobility

 

TECHNOLOGY


An almost CO2-neutral bridge technology based on renewable raw materials, which uses existing technologies, can prevent the scenario of global climate change without massive, long-term investments. Due to their chemical-physical similarity to fossil fuels, vegetable oils are particularly suitable as a bridging fuel, as they can be integrated into the existing infrastructures with reasonable effort. Especially the oil from the perennial plant Jatropha curcas Linn. (in the following “JCL”) offers a feasible solution here. On the fuel side, the quality standard for vegetable oils for use in diesel engines is described by DIN 51623. Thanks to uncomplicated technical adjustments, diesel engines can be operated with vegetable oils. After market converters already offer market-ready solutions, from the adaptation of the engine management to the installation of adapted engine parts.

ECONOMY


Vegetable oils are particularly suitable for the so-called "drop-in" solution. For example, vegetable oils can be used directly or with only minor technical adjustments to operate diesel engines. As a perennial plant, the second generation of JCL (Jatropha 2.0) also offers the advantage of binding atmospheric CO2 in the plant biomass for up to 30 years. This generates additional income by participating in the global CO2 certificate trade, which can provide financial relief, especially in the phase of establishing cultivation areas. JCL plants fix up to 80 tons of CO2 per hectare in the first few years and bind this for a period of up to 30 years. With full utilization of the 2 billion hectares of degraded soil worldwide, the potential of JCL and other pioneering plants with high oil content becomes clear. The hydrothermal carbonization of the vegetative plant material also increases the greenhouse gas reduction potential, which can further increase income. At 2 billion hectare, 160 billion tons of CO2 are theoretically bound for 30 years!

From an economic point of view, vegetable oil fuels also offer the advantage of generating local financial cycles in the growing countries and reducing dependence on imports of fossil fuels. This is particularly interesting for developing and emerging countries, which are also subject to the global crude oil price and its fluctuations. Economically and politically motivated migration is also curbed by creating livelihoods through the creation of jobs and thus the negative prognosis of emerging and developing countries can be stopped and even reversed.


Furthermore, the cultivation of Jatropha results in additional (by-products) that help to complete the local, regional or national value chain of the respective cultivation area and thus also contribute to sustainability according to the cradle-to-cradle principle .

ECOLOGY


Vegetable oil fuels not only offer the advantage of reducing CO2 emissions through their use, vegetable oils also offer advantages in terms of direct emissions. When vegetable oils are burned, significantly fewer soot particles and sulfur and heavy metal emissions are produced. By using JCL as fuel, over 60% less CO2 is released compared to using fossil diesel tank-to-wheel. By looking at cradle-to-grave , this measurement result is almost 100%. In addition, vegetable oils are biodegradable (water hazard class 0) and can therefore also be used in ecologically sensitive areas. JCL does not compete with forage or food crops. It is even the contrary: The cultivation regenerates depleted soil through monocultures, which can later be used again for the cultivation of food crops. In addition, hardly any waste products are created in cultivation and processing, so that the cultivation and use of JCL also offer almost no target for critical representatives of competing approaches.

Jatrophaöl_Painting - retuschiert.jpg

ECOLOGICAL ASPECTS

 

  • creation of CO2 reduction in the Jatropha growing area

  • O2 production when growing Jatropha

  • reduced CO2 (and NOx) emissions when operating combustion engines

  • reduced particulate matter emissions

  • no water hazard in the jatropha oil transshipment facility

  • low energy consumption in the production of jatropha oil

  • regeneration of impoverished soils (a total of 2 billion ha worldwide! )

  • minimal use of pesticides

  • usually no irrigation necessary

  • press cake suitable for biogas production

  • Increase in biodiversity

  • no environmentally hazardous waste

  • high security of handling with regard to fire protection

  • self-sufficient plant operation based on in-house fuel production

  • climate-positive life cycle assessment in relation to the entire value chain

SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC ASPECTS

  • development of new local industries

  • political stabilization of cultivation regions

  • creation of jobs in the growing area

  • reduction of reasons for migration

  • reduces dependence on OPEC countries

  • positive balance in CO2 certificate trading

  • subsidy possible in the start-up phase through development aid funds

  • cost minimization by maintaining existing infrastructures

  • clear timeline cultivation - harvest - trade

  • long-term reduction in development aid needs

  • independence from oil price fluctuations or other energy prices

Jatrophaöl

nachhaltige Brückentechnologie als Teil der Mobilitätswende

TECHNIK


Eine annähernd CO2-neutrale Brückentechnologie basierend auf nachwachsenden Rohstoffen, die bestehende Technologien nutzt, kann das  Szenario des globalen Klimawandels ohne massive, langfristige Investitionen zeitnah verhindern. Pflanzenöle eignen sich aufgrund ihrer chemisch-physikalischen Ähnlichkeit mit fossilem Erdöl besonders als Brückenkraftstoff, da sie sich mit überschaubarem Aufwand in die bestehenden Infrastrukturen integrieren lassen. Besonders das Öl der mehrjährigen Pflanze Jatropha curcas Linn. (im weiteren „JCL“ genannt) bietet hier einen realisierbaren Lösungsansatz. Kraftstoffseitig wird der Qualitätsstandard für Pflanzenöle zum Einsatz in Dieselmotoren durch die DIN 51623 beschrieben. Durch unkomplizierte technische Anpassungen ist ein Betrieb von Dieselmotoren mit Pflanzenölen möglich. Umrüster bieten bereits heute marktreife Lösungen, von der Anpassung der Motorsteuerung über den Einbau angepasster Motorteile an.
 
ÖKONOMIE  


Pflanzenöle eignen sich besonders für die sogenannte „drop-in“ Lösung. So können Pflanzenöle direkt oder mit nur geringen technischen Anpassungen zum Betrieb von Dieselmotoren genutzt werden. Als mehrjährige Pflanze bietet JCL der zweiten Generation (Jatropha 2.0) zusätzlich den Vorteil, in der pflanzlichen Biomasse atmosphärisches CO2 für bis zu 30 Jahre zu binden. Dies ermöglicht die Generierung von zusätzlichen Einnahmen durch die Teilnahme am CO2-Zertifikatehandel, was vor allem in der Phase der Etablierung von Anbauflächen für finanzielle Entspannung sorgen kann. JCL-Pflanzen fixieren in den ersten Jahren bis zu 80 Tonnen CO2 pro Hektar und binden dieses für einen Zeitraum von bis zu 30 Jahren. Bei voller Nutzung der 2 Mrd. Hektar degradierter Böden weltweit wird das Potential von  JCL und anderen Pionierpflanzen mit hohem Ölgehalt deutlich. Die hydrothermale Karbonisierung des vegetativen Pflanzenmaterials erhöht zudem das Treibhausgasminderungspotential zusätzlich, was die Einnahmen weiter steigern kann.  Bei 2 Mrd. Hektar sind theoretisch 160 Mrd. t CO2 für 30 Jahre gebunden!
   
Aus volkswirtschaftlicher Sicht bieten Pflanzenölkraftstoffe zudem den Vorteil der Generierung lokaler Finanzkreisläufe in den Anbauländern und einer Verringerung der Abhängigkeit gegenüber Importen von fossilen Energieträgern. Dies ist vor allem für Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer, die ebenfalls dem globalen Rohölpreis und dessen Schwankungen unterlegen sind, interessant.  Wirtschaftlich und politisch motivierte Migration wird zudem eingedämmt, indem Lebensgrundlagen durch das Entstehen von Arbeitsplätzen geschaffen und so die negative Prognose von Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern gestoppt und sogar umgekehrt werden kann.  
 

Des Weiteren ergeben sich durch den Jatropha-Anbau zusätzliche (Neben-)Produkte, die die lokale,regionale oder nationale Wertschöpfungskette des jeweiligen Anbaugebietes zu vervollständigen helfen und somit zusätzlich zur Nachhaltigkeit nach dem Cradle-to-Cradle Prinzip beitragen.
 
ÖKOLOGIE 


Pflanzenölkraftstoffe bieten nicht nur den Vorteil der Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes durch ihre Nutzung, auch in puncto direkte Emissionen bieten Pflanzenöle Vorteile. So entstehen bei der Verbrennung von Pflanzenölen deutlich weniger Rußpartikel und Schwefel- und Schwermetallemissionen. Bei der Kraftstoffnutzung von JCL wird im Vergleich zur Nutzung von fossilem Diesel tank-to-wheel über 60% weniger CO2 freigesetzt; bei Betrachtung cradle-to-grave bewegt sich dieser Wert nahezu gen 100%. Außerdem sind Pflanzenöle biologisch abbaubar (Wassergefährdungsklasse 0) und lassen sich damit auch in ökologisch sensiblen Bereichen einsetzen.  JCL steht nicht in Konkurrenz zu Futter- oder Nahrungspflanzen; ganz im Gegenteil:  Der Anbau regeneriert durch Monokulturen ausgelaugte Böden, die später wieder für den Anbau von Nahrungspflanzen genutzt werden können. Zudem entstehen im Anbau und der Verarbeitung kaum Abfallprodukte, sodass die Kultivierung und Nutzung von JCL auch kritischen Vertretern konkurrierender Denkansätze annähernd keine Angriffsflächen bieten.

SOZIALE UND ÖKONOMISCHE ASPEKTE

  • Aufbau neuer lokaler Wirtschaftszweige

  • politische Stabilisierung von Anbauregionen

  • Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen im Anbaugebiet

  • Minderung von Migrationsgründen

  • Verringerung der Abhängigkeit von OPEC Ländern

  • Positive Bilanz im CO2-Zertifikatehandel

  • Subvention in der Anlaufphase durch Entwicklungshilfe-Fonds möglich

  • Kostenminimierung durch Beibehaltung vorhandener Infrastrukturen

  • Überschaubare Zeitleiste Anbau – Ernte – Handel

  • langfristige Verringerung von Entwicklungshilfebedarfen

  • Unabhängigkeit von Erdölpreisschwankungen oder anderen Energiepreisen

ÖKOLOGISCHE ASPEKTE

  • Bildung von CO2-Senken im Anbaugebiet von Jatropha

  • O2-Produktion beim Anbau von Jatropha

  • Verminderte CO2- (und NOx) Emission im Betrieb von Verbrennungsmotoren

  • verringerter Feinstaubausstoß

  • keine Wassergefährdung im Umschlagbetrieb von Jatrophaöl

  • geringer Energiebedarf bei der Produktion von Jatrophaöl

  • Regenerierung verarmter Böden (weltweit in Summe 2 Mrd ha!)

  • minimaler Einsatz von Pestiziden

  • i.d.R. keine Bewässerung notwendig

  • Presskuchen für Biogasproduktion geeignet

  • Erhöhung der Biodiversität

  • keine umweltgefährdenden Abfälle

  • hohe Handbarkeitssicherheit bzgl. Feuerschutz

  • autarker Anlagenbetrieb auf Basis der eigenen Kraftstoffproduktion

  • klimapositive Ökobilanz in Bezug auf die vollständige Wertschöpfungskette

Impressum     Datenschutz     AGB

Logo_Raumlenker_neu_SW_edited.jpg
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Weißes Xing

© 2020 RaumLenker MotorConsult (Christian Nikolai)