The Chrysler Turbine Car and why it's the cover of this page

Chrysler_Turbine_2_edited.jpg

Chrysler, the smallest of the "Big Three" in Detroit, lagged behind GM and Ford at the time, as they were much more modern and with a crisp, attractive portfolio. Auburn Hills had some catching up to do, and so the idea was born to provide the answer to a question that nobody had actually asked: a car with a gas turbine drive that runs extremely smoothly, as a by-product with fewer pollutant emissions (apart from NOx emissions like a small town) and came along as an omnivore.

The 1963 Chrysler Turbine Car was a child of its time when the spirit was  “ the sky is the limit of progess! ".

After all, at around the same time, kids around the world were watching the British science fiction series "Thunderbirds" with great enthusiasm, and NASA still had the status of a modern technology religion.

Regardless of whether gasoline, diesel, kerosene or turpentine: the turbine could be operated with any flammable liquid!

Adolfo López Mateos, the then President of Mexico even ran one of the first cars with tequila !

So a small series of 50 "series" vehicles plus 5 prototypes were put on, which were distributed to "real" customers for test purposes for everyday use from the end of 1963. The bodies were built according to the design of the Chrysler design department under Elwood Engel at Ghia in Italy, in order to then celebrate the wedding with the futuristic drive train in the USA. The technology was so fancy that the design had to be just as breathtaking. Chrysler succeeded in this - and the accompanying media presence - as well as Elon Musk recently with the Tesla Cyber-Truck ...

 

Turbine_Car_Details.jpg

After hundreds of thousands of test kilometers; or miles and after consultation with the volunteers behind the wheel, the conclusion was reached that this car could not be sold to customers due to the long start-up time of the turbine, problems in operation with the fluctuating of outside temperatures, the exorbitant fuel-consumption and the driving noise of a vacuum cleaner. Therefore the idea was quickly rejected again. With the exception of a few examples, all Turbine Cars were scrapped. The American late-night talker and legendary car collector Jay Leno owns one of the few survivours.

To this day, the car is considered a milestone in automotive technology and design history - but due to its lack of suitability for everyday use, it never caught on in series production and therefore never had a successor suitable for customers.

 

What does all of this have to do with alternative energies, electromobility and Jatropha Oil?

 

On the one hand, the turbine could actually be operated with Jatropha Oil without any problems, which would give the turbine car a significantly improved (and posthumous) carbon footprint. On the other hand - and this is actually what it is about - the Turbine Car can justifiably be called a "failure with respect to every aspect" , which would establish the reference to some of the vehicles currently offered by German traditional brands ...

 

It is a historical symbol of what happens when the industry - for whatever reason - tries to establish a semi-cooked product that no one has asked for, without any demand from the market, furthermore without sensible market research, and that actually has no advantages over mature technology with additional development potential. The few advantages, such as the smooth running, are cannibalized elsewhere by massive losses.

 

We are similarly critical of the attempt to establish electromobility on the market as a stand-alone alternative to the combustion engine, without even considering other technical solutions. In the meantime, e-mobility is much more advanced than the development of the turbine car at the time, but that does not mean that it has a global benefit for decarbonization. It is never too late to take a bold step on the brakes and turn to pragmatic, technology-open actions! After all, it is about our climate, which will not be saved by Turbine Cars or half-baked electric cars with "green" electricity that is not available in sufficient quantities.

Das Chrysler Turbine Car und warum es das Titelbild dieser Seite ist

Chrysler_Turbine_2_edited.jpg

Chrysler als kleinster der „Big Three“ in Detroit hinkte GM und Ford damals hinterher, da diese deutlich moderner und mit einem knackigen, ansprechenden Portfolio daherkamen. Man hatte in Auburn Hills also Nachholbedarf und so wurde die Idee geboren, die Antwort auf eine Frage zu liefern, die eigentlich niemand gestellt hatte: Ein Auto mit Gasturbinenantrieb, das extrem laufruhig, als Nebenprodukt mit in Summe weniger Schadstoffausstoß (abgesehen vom NOx-Ausstoß einer Kleinstadt) und zudem als Allesfresser daherkam.

Das Chrysler Turbine Car von 1963 war ein Kind seiner Zeit, als es noch hieß „höher, schneller, weiter!“. 

Schließlich schauten ungefähr zur gleichen Zeit schon die Kleinsten begeistert die britische Science-Fiction Serie „Thunderbirds“ und die NASA hatte noch den Status einer modernen Technik-Religion.

Egal, ob Benzin, Diesel, Kerosin, oder Terpentin: Die Turbine konnte mit jeder brennbaren Flüssigkeit betrieben werden!

Adolfo López Mateos, der damalige Präsident von Mexiko betrieb sogar eines der ersten Autos mit Tequila!

So legte man also eine Kleinserie von 50 „Serien“-Fahrzeugen plus 5 Prototypen auf, die ab Ende des Jahres 1963 an „echte“ Kunden zu Testzwecken für den Alltagsgebrauch verteilt wurden. Gebaut wurden die Karosserien nach dem Entwurf der Chrysler Designabteilung unter Elwood Engel bei Ghia in Italien, um dann in den USA die Hochzeit mit dem futuristischen Antriebsstrang zu feiern. Die Technik war derart ausgefallen, dass das Design ebenso atemberaubend sein musste. Dies - und die begleitende Medienpräsenz -  ist Chrysler damals ebenso gelungen, wie Elon Musk kürzlich der Tesla Cyber-Truck...

Turbine_Car_Details.jpg

Nach hunderttausenden von Testkilometern; bzw. -meilen kam man nach Rücksprache mit den freiwilligen Testern zu dem Schluss, dass dieses Auto aufgrund der langen Anlaufzeit der Turbine, Problemen im Betrieb bei schwankenden Außentemperaturen, dem exorbitanten Verbrauch sowie dem Fahrgeräusch eines Staubsaugers nicht zu vermarkten war und verwarf die Idee schnell wieder. Bis auf wenige Exemplare wurden alle Turbine Cars verschrottet. Der US-amerikanische Late-Night-Talker und legendäre Autosammler Jay Leno besitzt übrigens eines der  wenigen, überlebenden Exemplare.

Bis heute gilt das Auto zwar als Meilenstein der automobilen Technik- und Designgeschichte – hat sich allerdings mangels Alltagstauglichkeit nie in Serie durchgesetzt und daher auch nie einen massentauglichen Nachfolger bekommen.

 

Was hat all das mit alternativen Energien, Elektromobilität und Jatrophaöl zu tun?

 

Zum einen könnte man die Turbine tatsächlich problemlos mit Jatrophaöl betreiben, was dem Turbine Car quasi posthum eine deutlich verbesserte Klimabilanz bescheren würde. Zum anderen – und darum geht es eigentlich – kann man das Turbine Car mit Fug und Recht als "Rohrkrepierer" bezeichnen, womit der Bezug zu einigen, derzeit angebotenen Fahrzeugen deutscher Tradiotionsmarken hergestellt wäre...

 

Es ist ein historisches Sinnbild dafür, was passiert, wenn die Industrie – aus welchen Gründen auch immer – ohne Nachfrage aus dem Markt und ohne vernünftige Markforschung versucht, ein halbgares Produkt zu etablieren, nach dem niemand gefragt hat und das eigentlich keinerlei Vorteile gegenüber ausgereifter Technik mit weitere Entwicklungspotential hat. Die wenigen Vorteile, wie der ruhige Lauf werden  durch massive Einbußen an anderer Stelle kannibalisiert.

 

Ähnlich kritisch sehen wir den Vorstoß, Elektromobilität als Stand-Alone Alternative zum Verbrennungsmotor im Markt zu etablieren, ohne andere technische Lösungen ebenfalls in Betracht zu ziehen. Inzwischen ist die E-Mobilität heute zwar deutlich weiter fortgeschritten, als seinerzeit die Entwicklung des Turbine Cars, was aber nicht heißt, dass sie global betrachtet einen Nutzen für die Dekarbonisierung hat. Für einen beherzter Tritt auf die Bremse und die Hinwendung zu pragmatischem, technologieoffenen Handeln ist es nie zu spät, schließlich geht es um unser Klima, das weder durch Turbine Cars, noch halbgare Elektroautos mit "grünem" Strom, der nicht in ausreichender Menge verfügbar ist, gerettet werden kann.